Go to Top


What Assessor qualifications are available?

There are 4 Level 3 Assessor qualifications aimed at people working in assessment. They cover how to plan, prepare, conduct and gather evidence for assessment:

Here’s a link to the full set of Assessor Qualifications, units and standards.

Level 3 Certificate - Assessing Vocational Achievement

This NVQ Certificate is the only qualification that will qualify you to assess learners in the workplace and in learning environments (classrooms, workshops and virtual learning environments).  It also qualifies you to use the full range of assessment methods.

This qualification was formerly known as the A1.

Level 3 Award - Assessing Competence in the Work Environment

This NVQ Award is for those who assess competence in the workplace only and using the following assessment methods: observation/examining work products/oral questioning and discussion/use of witnesses/learner statements/Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).

Level 3 Award - Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement

This NVQ Award is for those who assess competence in training environments only and using the following assessment methods: assessments in simulated environments/skills tests/oral and written questions/assignments/projects/case studies/RPL.

Which is the right one for you?

The right qualification for you depends on whether you wish to practice as an assessor, in what kind of environment and how much flexibility you require in undertaking assessments.  

The Level 3 ‘Certificate’ is the only qualification that makes you a fully qualified assessor with the flexibility to assess in both the workplace and training environments and is the qualification recommended by ATDirect.  The other qualifications are more limited but may suit some individuals in certain circumstances.